Skip to content

Grave Hard: Lee’s Summit Historical Cemetery, Lee’s Summit, Mo.

November 24, 2013

death1

I’m about a month and a half behind in publishing this, but really, who cares?! It’s not like I have some news organization to answer to. It’s just me and my two bitchy beagles.

Speaking of which — I haven’t introduced the world to J.R. “Jimmy” Cash. He’s a wonder beagle with a slight cocaine addiction (similar to his namesake).

IMG_1398

Just kidding! Dogs can’t “do” coke. He just acts like he’s hoped up on coke. It’s like he’s an executive in American Psycho, or something.

I visited the Lee’s Summit Historical Cemetery in September before the leaves got all awesome. This was my favorite graveyard I have visited in 2013 and that’s mainly because it is full of incredibly original tombstones, and old graves, too.

This cemetery also contains the remains of more than a few Civil War veterans, and Quantrill’s Raiders. So, yeah — history! Really bloody history…

Here are some of the photos I snapped while there.

IMG_0826

IMG_0821

IMG_0807

IMG_0814

I’m still planning on hitting some grave sites through the winter. (I’m looking at you, Lawrence. I also need another excuse to go to Burger Stand and Love Garden.) But I also want to add a few haunted places to the mix, too. I hope to take a trip to Atchison, Kan., and to Estes Park, Col., during my “Birthday Week.” (Because why not celebrate for a week? You may be dead by next year.)

What other yards should I hit up on a snowy day? Let me know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2013 11:13 pm

    Loved that! Beautiful pics, too. Was that marker (tree) a Woodmen of America marker (something like that, sorry cannot recall the proper term)? I heard the tree markers are pretty rare. I find that absolutely fascinating…never seen one before, myself, only read of them. As for ideas: in Kansas City, Mo. there is Elmwood Cemetery est. by the city in 1872. Make sure to look for the new monument dedicated to the resident yearling deer, “Ella”, that was born there in 2011 and lived there until it was shot last year by a criminal act. The community came to love the tame deer and it came to love the people, too. It even befriended a stray dog who was it’s loyal companion for a few months inside the cemetery. A touching story. A huge monument.Elmwood Cemetery Society’s newsletter featured a story about it.

  2. November 27, 2013 11:15 pm

    *Correction* Ella the deer was shot August 2013.

Leave a Reply

