An Interview with Rachael Trader, Pet Memorial Services Manager at Wayside Waifs

Daphne’s ashes from Wayside Waifs

I recently got the chance to ask Rachael Trader, pet memorial services manager at Wayside Waifs, about her job. On more than a few occasions, Rachael has helped provide exceptional aftercare for my animals.

What inspired you to work at Wayside Waifs’ Pet Memorial Services center?

Rachael Trader: I happened upon it by accident, actually, while browsing job opportunities on the internet. I read the description and it looked like a very interesting role at Wayside Waifs. I knew I would be running the department somewhat independently, which was important to me because I wanted the ability/flexibility to make decisions that would influence the lives of others in a positive way. When I toured the campus after my interview, I found the cemetery to be quite beautiful and serene. I knew it would be a place where I could learn and grow personally, while also helping the community.

What services does the center provide?

Rachael Trader: We provide euthanasia, cremation and burial services, deceased pet transport, paw-printing and other mementos, and access to items for home-burials (caskets, headstones, urns, etc.). We also offer viewings prior to cremation or burial services where the family may utilize our private room to spend time with their pet during those last final moments.

What service do you most enjoy providing to the public?

Rachael Trader: I get the most pleasure out of helping the family navigate through the loss of their pet. More specifically, when I receive a phone call from someone that needs to schedule a euthanasia or has recently lost a pet, typically that first phone call is very emotional. There can be a lot of “unknowns” for a family that has never been through the experience. I try my best to slowly explain the information in detail and reassure them that they will have someone helping them throughout the process. By the end of the phone call, my hope is that the caller has felt some sense of comfort in knowing that they are not alone. Then when they use our services, they get to meet the person that will be caring for their pet and know that I am sincere and I think that also helps to add comfort to a difficult situation. I enjoy getting feedback from the family, and usually that feedback is how much easier I have made the process for them. If I can provide some sense of relief or comfort for the family, I feel I have done my job well.

I’m sure that your position can be sad at times; how are you able to keep helping families even when it’s tough?

Rachael Trader: That is a great question. There is something inside me that prioritizes the family’s needs before my own. The role I have as a support system for them overrides any sadness I may be feeling about the situation personally, and I do everything in my power to make the experience less painful for them. In my time off, I try to reduce stress by exercising, listening to music, and keeping busy. I have found that as long as I control the amount of stress in my personal life, I am able to be a better source of guidance and support for the families.

Do you find that the people who come to use the organization’s body aftercare services are prepared for their pet’s death, or does a lot of your job involve guiding people through the body aftercare process?

Rachael Trader: I would say it is a mix of both. If the family feels prepared ahead of time, they still typically need quite a bit of guidance because the grief can make it difficult to think clearly sometimes. Most families have never been through the process of euthanasia with a pet, so that service typically takes a little more guidance and support.

What types of memorials is your organization able to provide clients?

Rachael Trader: We can offer a viewing service in a private room, which the family may use to honor their pet prior to a burial. I have also offered this service prior to cremations if there are family members that did not have the chance to say good-bye when the pet was at home. As far as tangible memorial items, we can offer things like custom headstones to place in the cemetery or to take home, memorial benches in honor of the pet, and of course we are always open to unique ideas from the family.

I know aftercare pricing can be a struggle for some, especially now. Are there affordable options for people who are seeking aftercare or keepsake services?

Rachael Trader: The services we provide at Wayside Waifs Pet Memorial are lower in cost than almost any other place I have seen locally. We keep our costs lower to be able to provide for the community during their time of need and to also encourage families to use our services. All the money generated through the Pet Memorial department is put back into the shelter to provide food and medical care for the waifs while they are awaiting their forever homes. I always encourage pre-paying for services in advance so I can help the family budget for the services they would like when the time comes. Each family has individual needs and I do my best to accommodate.

If you’d like to add anything else about what you enjoy about your work or things that would help a prospective client choose your organization for aftercare, please feel free to add.

Rachael Trader: What I want to emphasize the most is that there are many places which can provide a simple cremation and at least one other place that provides burials for a companion animal, but the care and support you will receive at Wayside Waifs Pet Memorial Services surpasses all other options. We will treat your pet as if it were our own and we pride ourselves in our compassion, empathy, and honesty. If there is an aspect of the service you wish to see in its entirety, we have nothing to hide and will be willing to explain anything in further detail and allow the family to participate, if desired. When you bring your pet to Wayside Waifs, you will see immediately that you are not just a number to us, but a part of our family and we will treat you as such.

Leave a comment